7c. How to Use the Rollback Feature

The Revision Rollback feature allows end users to restore all files within an entire folder (standard folder, Team Share, or Backup) to an earlier revision before a selected date. The Revision Rollback feature is particularly useful in situations where files might have been corrupted by ransomware; it utilizes a file’s revision history, and restores all currently-existing content in the root to a healthy revision at a specified point-in-time. In these cases, you can use the Activity Log to determine when the infected revisions were uploaded, and then roll back files prior to the point of infection.

Note: A file's revision can refer to the originally uploaded file (first version) or a revision of an edited file (subsequent revisions).

To access the Revision Rollback feature:

  1. In the web portal, click the Files tab. The Browse Files page displays.
  2. In the Browse Files page, navigate to the appropriate folder. While inside the folder, click the Rollback button in the toolbar. The Rollback pop-up window displays, prompting you to select a date and time.

  3. Select a day and time before the time to which you want to restore. For example, if you select June 25th at 12:40 PM, the feature will find the first file revision before June 25th at 12:40. If a revision exists at 12:40 and another at 12:39, the file at 12:39 will be restored. Please note that the Revision Rollback feature utilizes a 24 hour clock, and is based off of the timezone of the RenovoSync server. The US RenovoSync server is located in the Eastern timezone.
  4. Click Rollback when you are finished.