6bii. Auto-Locking Files

If your administrator has turned on Auto-Locking, please note expected Auto-Locking behavior:

  • This feature applies to .doc, .docx, .xlsx, .ppt, and .pptx files. This feature also applies to .xls, .odt, .ods, and .odp documents if the documents are opened with LibreOffice or OpenOffice.
  • This feature is not supported for Word for Mac and .xls files opened with Excel.
  • This feature is only accessible from the desktop client installed on local machines.

To open a file using this feature:

  1. Click to open a file in the Team Share. You will be presented with a dialog box that will prompt
  2. Select the Lock the document radio button to confirm the lock. You can also select a maximum lock time period in the Max Duration drop-down menu to determine how long the auto-lock will be in effect. You can select from 1 hour (default), 2 hours, 4 hours, or 8 hours. After the time period has expired, the auto-lock will expire. Or, the file will automatically unlock when you close the file.
  3. Depending on the administrator's configuration settings, if another user opens a file that you have locked, he or she will be presented with a pop-up notification. If this notification is ignored, the user will be prompted to save the file with a different name.

Note: When attempting to edit a Microsoft Word 2013 or Microsoft Excel 2013 locked file, offending users will need to actively clear the read-only notification before they can edit a file. Older revisions of Microsoft Word, however, will only display a read-only notification in the toolbar area. It is important to be mindful when working in Team Shares, and to pay attention to display indicators and warning messages.