6d. Common Types of Files Sync Warnings

You might encounter two different types of file sync warnings when working in Team Shares:

  • Collision—A collision occurs when one file is modified in two different places at the same time. When this happens, only one of the revisions will successfully sync to the server, and the other revision will be marked as a collision. For example, User A and User B both open the same file from two separate locations, without locking the file. User A edits and saves her file, and this new revision is synchronized to the server. User A edits and saves her file again, and this updated revision is again synchronized to the server. User B is now editing an older revision of the file. When User B saves his revision of the file, it will not synchronize to the server, and will instead be marked as a collision.
  • Locked Change Warning—A locked change warning occurs when a user attempts to modify a file that has been previously locked by another user, either at the file level or the folder level. For example, User A locks a file and the file is marked with a lock icon. Later, User B opens the file, ignoring the lock icon, and begins modifying the file. When User B attempts to save his revision, it does not immediately synchronize with the server, and is instead marked as a locked change warning. When User A unlocks the file, User B's revision will automatically synchronize to the server without any additional action on his part.

Your administrator can configure file locking so that locks are stronger (hard locks); in these instances, you will not encounter a locked change warning. For more information, please contact your administrator.

Note: If Team Share subscribers forget to lock files and folders before making changes, file sync warnings will occur more often; it is therefore considered a best practice to lock files or folders before making changes.